Monday , July 24 2017
Home / News / Counting of votes begins for six MLC seats in Telangana

Counting of votes begins for six MLC seats in Telangana

Hyderabad: The counting of votes for the six legislative council seats from the local authorities constituencies has begun. A total 19 candidates contested from six seats in four districts of the state.

Polling was held on 26th December for two constituencies each in Mahabubnagar and Rangareddy districts and one each in Khammam and Nalgonda districts as part of biennial elections for the legislative council from local authorities constituencies.

Telangana Chief Electoral Officer K Bhanwarlal said the polling process was peaceful and a total of 98.81% of voters cast their votes.

Of the 12 MLC seats for which notification was released on December 2, elections for six seats have become unanimous with the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) candidates getting elected unopposed in Karimnagar, Warangal, Nizamabad, Medak and Adilabad districts.

Polling was held for the remaining six seats in Khammam, Ranga Reddy, Mahaboob Nagar and Nalgonda districts.

While the TRS has contested all six seats, the Congress has fielded candidates in Mahaboob Nagar, Ranga Reddy and Nalgonda districts and extended support to a CPI candidate on Khammam seat.

On the other hand, the opposition TDP, in alliance with the BJP, contested for Ranga Reddy and Mahaboob Nagar seats, while the YSR Congress has fielded candidate only for Khammam seat. (ANI)