Wednesday , August 23 2017
Home / News / Hyderabad / Congress leaders express concern over rising communalism

Congress leaders express concern over rising communalism

The Congress leaders on Monday stressed on the importance of a war against communal forces and need to revive the spirit of national integration in the country.

Addressing a meeting at Charminar on the occasion of Silver Jubilee of Sadbhavana Yatra started by former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi 25 years ago, the Congress leaders felt that AICC Vice-President Rahul Gandhi must take out another Sadbhavana Yatra to counter rising communalism. In his speech, AICC General Secretary Digvijay Singh said India has been a home for all religions. He said while wars were fought for politics, there was not a single battle which was fought for religion. He said Britishers adopted Divide and Rule policy by creating differences among Hindus and Muslims after the first war of independence in 1857. He said the same policy was being practices by the present BJP-led NDA Government at the Centre.

Digvijay Singh said there was no shortage of temples and mosques. But the country lacks only ‘Sadbhavana’ or communal harmony. He congratulated the organisers for selecting Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad for the Sadbhavana Award.

Speaking on the occasion, Azad recalled the services of Rajiv Gandhi for the nation and said he emulated his mother Indira Gandhi by sacrificing his life for the country. He said within five years of his rule, Rajiv Gandhi gave Information Technology, Civil Aviation and developed other sectors which are now paying huge dividends. He said it was Rajiv Gandhi who introduced computer and mobile phones.

Azad accused the BJP leaders of indulging in provocative politics to instill fear among minorities. He said that the situation has turned so worse that all secular-mind writers and poets are returning their awards as protest.

The meeting was also addressed by former Union Minister S. Jaipal Reddy, Leaders of Opposition K. Jana Reddy and Mohammed Ali Shabbir, TPCC chief N. Uttam Kumar Reddy and Working President Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, Rajya Sabha MP V. Hanumantha Rao and others.

Senior leadres including Rajya Sabha member MA Khan, former minister P. Sabitha Indira Reddy and Danam Nagender, Khaja Fakhruddin, Shaik Abdullah Sohail, Mohammed Sirajuddin, Syed Yousuf Hashmi, Mohammed Javeed, G. Niranjan and others were present. (INN)