Wednesday , July 26 2017
Home / News / Politics / Congress announces campaign committee for Assam

Congress announces campaign committee for Assam

The Congress on Friday announced several committees including those dealing with campaign, coordination and manifesto for next year’s assembly polls in Assam, where the party is in power.

The panels, approved by Congress president Sonia Gandhi, also include those relating to election coordination, campaign, publicity, media and communication and discipline.

The ten-member co-ordination committee for Assam is headed by party general secretary C. P. Joshi, who is incharge of the state, and includes Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi and state Congress chief Anjan Datta.

The campaign committee is headed by former union minister Paban Singh Ghatowar and the manifesto committee by former state Congress chief Bhubaneswar Kalita. The party will make further additions to these committees.

The five-member disciplinary committee has five members.

The assembly elections are crucial for the Congress which has suffered a string of electoral reverses following its debacle in the Lok Sabha elections.

Senior party leader and former Assam minister Himanta Biswa Sarma had joined the Bharatiya Janata Party last month.