Sunday , May 28 2017
Home / News / Telangana / Centre approves 45, 217 PMAY houses for Telangana

Centre approves 45, 217 PMAY houses for Telangana

The inter-ministerial Central Screening and Monitoring Committee (CSMC) of the Union Ministry of Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation chaired by Dr.Nandita Chatterjee, Secretary (HUPA) on Monday sanctioned 169,381 houses for Economically Weaker Sections in 145 cities in 8 states for which a total central assistance of Rs. 2,444 cr will be provided.

The EWS houses approved today include : 47,050 units in 70 cities of West Bengal, 45,217 in 27 cities and towns of Telanagana, 27,186 in 6 cities of Gujarat, 19,241 in 16 cities of Madhya Pradesh, 16,146 in 14 cities of Jharkhand, 7,621 in 9 cities of Tamil Nadu, 5,548 in Bhubaneswar in Odisha and 1,364 in Aizawl and Lawngtlai in Mizoram.

With this, Ministry of HUPA has so far approved construction of 4,23,415 houses for urban poor in 243 cities in 11 States across the country, for which the Union Government will provide an assistance of Rs.5,900 cr.

Under PMAY (Urban), the Union Government provides an assistance of Rs. 1 lakh per unit for in-situ rehabilitation of slum dwellers and Rs. 1.50 lakh per unit under Affordable Housing in Partnership and Beneficiary led individual construction for EWS beneficiaries. Under the fourth component of Credit Linked Subsidy of Rs. 2.30 lakh per beneficiary will be provided. (INN)