Monday , May 29 2017
Home / News / India / Bypolls: BJP loses Ratlam-Jhabua LS seat; TRS wins Warangal

Bypolls: BJP loses Ratlam-Jhabua LS seat; TRS wins Warangal

The Congress has snatched the Ratlam-Jhabua Lok Sabha seat from the BJP in by-elections in Madhya Pradesh, the result for which was declared on Tuesday.

Former union minister and Congress candidate Kantilal Bhuria defeated BJP’s Nirmala Bhuria by over 88 thousand votes here. The BJP, however, retained the Dewas legislative assembly seat, with Gayatri Raje of BJP defeating J. P. Shastri of the Congress by over 30 thousand votes in this segment.

The counting of votes took place for by-elections for Lok Sabha and legislative assembly seats in Madhya Pradesh, Telangana, Meghalaya, Manipur and Mizoram on Tuesday.

In Telangana, Telanagana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) retained the Warangal Lok Sabha seat in the bypolls with a thumping majority. TRS candidate P Dayakar defeated his nearest Congress rival and former union minister Sarvey Satyanarayana by a record majority of 4 lakh 59 thousand and 92 votes.

In Manipur, however, the BJP opened its account in the state assembly by winning bypolls in two constituencies – Thangmeiband and Thongju in Manipur – while the Congress and the Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) won assembly by-elections in Mizoram and Meghalaya, respectively.

The Congress emerged victorious in the Aizawl North-III Assembly seat, while the HSPDP retained the Nongstoin Assembly seat in Meghalaya.

Elections were held on November 21 for two Lok Sabha and five assembly seats in these states. (ANI)