Friday , July 21 2017
Home / News / India / 2006 Mumbai train blasts case: 12 convicted, 1 acquitted

2006 Mumbai train blasts case: 12 convicted, 1 acquitted

The serial blasts, carried out in a span of just 11 minutes, targeted the crowded suburban train services during the evening peak hours as bombs kept in pressure cookers went off on the Western Railway network between Churchgate and Virar. PTI file photo
Twelve people were convicted on Friday in the 7/11 Mumbai trains serial blasts by a special court here.

Nine years after RDX bombs blew up seven peak hour suburban trains on the Western Railway in 11 minutes and killed 189 commuters, the special MCOCA Court delivered its verdict here on Friday.

The convicted are Kamal Ahmed Mohammed Vakil Ansari, Dr Tanveer Ahmed Mohammed Ibrahim Ansari, Mohammed Faisal Ataur Rahman Shaikh, Ehtesham Kutubuddin Sidduqui, Mohammed Majid Mohammed Shafi, Shaikh Mohammed Ali Alam Shaikh, Mohammed Sajid Margub Ansari, Muzammil Ataur Rahman Shaikh, Sohail Mehmood Shaikh, Zameer Ahmed Latuir Rehman Shaikh, Naveed Hussain Khan Rasheed Hussain Khan and Asif Khan, and the accused acquitted is identified as Abdul Wahid Din Mohammed Shaikh.

The Anti-Terrorism Squad (ATS) had arrested the accused during the months July 20, 2006 and October 3, 2006, but ran into controversy in the same year, when the accused gave a written submission to court that their confessions were coerced.

Initial reports said that five were convicted. The eight-year-long trial concluded on August 19, 2014 and Special Judge Y.D. Shinde pronounced his judgement.

Besides claiming 189 lives, the serial blasts left 817 injured on the evening of July 11, 2006, from 6.23 p.m. onwards – the peak hour when the suburban trains are choked with commuters going home.

The seven bombs went off in trains at Matunga Road, Mahim, Bandra, Khar Road, Jogeshwari, Borivali and Mira Road stations spanning Mumbai and Thane districts.